Early Warning is a process to help parents and students understand the importance of school attendance. If your child misses school for 10 days or more in a semester, you will receive a letter stating the date and time you will appear in court. Judge Carl Chamblee will review the information and determine the appropriate steps in order to resolve the truancy issue.
Two laws exist to assist in preventing truant students.
Attendance and Conduct (ACT 94-782 Code of Alabama 1975, §16-28-12)
Each parent/guardian or other person having control or custody of a child required to attend school who fails to require the child to enroll, to regularly attend school, and compel the child to properly conduct himself/herself in accordance with the written policy on school behavior adopted by the local board of education shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and may be fined up to one hundred dollars ($100.00) and may be sentenced to hard labor for up to 90 days.
Drop Out/Driver’s License (ACT 94-820 Code of Alabama 1975, §16-28-40)
The Department of Public Safety shall deny a driver’s license or learner’s permit to any person under the age of 19 who is not: enrolled or has not received a diploma or certificate of graduation, enrolled in a GED program, enrolled in a secondary school, participating in a job training program, gainfully employed, a parent of a minor or unborn child, the sole source of transportation for parents, or exempt under provision of the law. Visit the Enrollment Exclusion Form to download and complete.